Concrete Prices in Kansas City

Now that spring is here things have signifigantly picked up for those homeowners wanting their spring projects done. I’ve really heard of some crazy stuff out there regarding how much people are charging for their services so it is time to set the record straight. The big question is…how much does it cost??? The concrete prices i’m about to reveal are from legitimate companies that I know of in the Kansas City area. Use this as a general rule;

  • concrete driveway tearout and replace w/ 4 inch concrete (your typical 2 car drive is around 800square feet) the average cost is going to be around $6-8 / square foot
  • stamped concrete patio w/ no tearout is going to run you around $10-12 / square foot (add $2 for tearout)
  • stained concrete (this would include a patio or basement floor) with minimal prep your looking at $4/square foot.

Keep in mind these are just rough numbers, but I wanted to give people an idea. I was told by one individual that their driveway was bid anywhere from $3.50 to $15 per square foot for tearout and replace. This leaves to homeowner confused. So now you know about what the current market prices are. Expect these prices to increase if fuel continues to climb.

2 responses to “Concrete Prices in Kansas City

  1. I’m thinking about putting in a stamped concrete patio and I’ve found your blog really helpful, especially the last few entries. One of the problems with consumers who don’t deal in the construction business is knowing what the going prices are on things, so it’s hard to feel like your not getting ripped off. For instance, when I had my current basement floor torn out and repoured I got bids from 15K for tearout and redo all the way down to $3500, needless to say I learned a lot about concrete, but that was 5 years ago and times have changed.

    Anyway, my question is who would you consider reputable professionals to do a stamped concrete patio? There are so many companies out there, it’s hard to know where to start, I just don’t want to find an ad in the Yellow Pages I’d like some advice. If you don’t feel comfortable posting here (don’t want you to upset anyone) feel free to e-mail me with some suggestions of companies that you consider professional so I can get an idea of where to start.

    I’m not someone who’s going with the cheapest, but I don’t want to pay a premium for someone who thinks that he’s better than everyone else. I just want a professional who takes pride in his work, knows what he is doing, doesn’t overcharge, and shows up when they say they will.

    Thanks in advance for any help!

  2. kansascityconcrete

    I completely understand your concern. The key to your project is finding someone who specializes in what you need. A stamped concrete patio. Your prices will vary for a variety of reasons; they specialize in something different, the contractor is slow and needs some work, the contractor is busy and is just trying to fill a gap…..
    With this in mind, I would say the going rate for a stamped concrete patio is between $10 and $14 / square foot. Make sure that the contractor you hire has the proper insurance, and pictures of “his work”, and not magazine/supplier photos.
    We have worked with Anthony at Innovative Concrete http://www.concreteconstructionkc.com, for over a year now. He does great work and is very detailed.

Leave a Reply

